FTP Folder Synchronizer
Folder Synchronizer allows you to recursively compare, synchronize and clone
files and directory structure between a local folder and a remote folder
with just minimum mouse clicks.
Directory structures of the current local and remote directories are displayed
side by side in the Folder Synchronizer dialog. Each item (file or subfolder)
on the folder tree are marked with a special image on the left to the file
icon to indicate the action for this item. Actions are determined as a result
of recursive comparison between the two directories, which is based on the
synchronization scheme and other related options defined in the Synchronization
tab of the Advanced
Site Settings for this site.
Fig. Folder Synchronizer
To make things work out as you expect, you need to configure the synchronization
options properly. You can do so either in [Advanced Site Settings | Synchronization]
in the specific site profile (accessible via the Address
Book) or by clicking the Options button in the Folder Synchronizer
dialog. Both will bring out the property page where you can specify options
Fig. Folder Synchronization Options for an Individual Site
IMPORTANT: Note that if file comparison is based on file date and time,
remote file time must be of the same time zone as the local files, otherwise
you need to specify the proper Server time offset in the Files
tab of the Advanced Site Settings.
Understanding the Result of Comparison
Following is a breakdown of all possible actions and their associated images:
This file or subdirectory will be deleted
This file or subdirectory will be ignored and kept intact.
Indicates that a local file will be uploaded and added to remote directory
or, a new directory of the same name will be created at the remote directory.
Indicates a local file will be uploaded to overwrite a file with the same
name in the remote directory.
Indicates that a remote file will be downloaded and added to local directory
or, a new directory with the same name will be created at local directory.
Indicates that a remote file will be downloaded to overwrite a file of the
same name in local directory.
This file (in the target directory) will be overwritten (updated).
You can review brief description of these action images by pressing the
Legend button. The popup menu also shows the number of files and
directories to which an action will be applied. For Delete action,
two file numbers will be shown in format [number of local files to be
deleted] + [number of remote files to be deleted].
Change Synchronization Options
By clicking on the Options you can change synchronization
related options as needed. After changes have been made, comparison
will be renewed.
Change Local Directory
You can change the local directory, either as the source or target of synchronization,
by clicking on the browse button (labeled with three dots)..
Refresh Remote Directory
Clicking on the Refresh button will refresh the current remote directory
list. When finished, the Folder Synchronizer dialog will appear again to
present the result of the renewed comparison.
You can modify planned action for each item. Available options are:
Upload (or Download in the remote directory tree)
Only options that make sense will be available, other options will be grayed
out. For instance, if the synchronization direction is upload, no
download is allowed and the Download option for remote items will
always be disabled.
After clicking on this button, all files to be transferred will be put into
the transfer queue and transfer will be started automatically. No further
user intervention is needed.