Is it possible?

All about using TurboFTP. Exchange your use experience or post questions/problems here.

Moderator: idler

Is it possible?

Postby broadcastdoc » Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:40 am

Here's what I need to do:

I have a system that generates an XML file every few minutes (title and artist data of songs on the radio). That file is dropped into a directory, and needs to be uploaded to two different FTP servers.

Is it possible to have Turbo poll the folder and upload ONLY after the file has changed? Right now, I just have it synchronise that folder to the FTP servers every minute. It would cut back traffic quite a bit if it would only attempt a sync if it notices that the file has changed. CuteFTP has that function, but it only works with one site at a time.
broadcastdoc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:34 am

Postby broadcastdoc » Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:55 am

So the answer is "no" then?

:wink:
broadcastdoc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:34 am

Postby admin » Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:41 am

The Sync Service's Auto Upload Task can do this. You can set up one such task and tell it to monitor a specific local folder to upload any new/updated files in it.
admin
Support Staff
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:24 am

Postby broadcastdoc » Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:58 am

Cool! But is there a way to set it so that it doesn't stay logged in to the FTP server? I'd like it to see the changed file, log into the FTP server, upload it, and disconnect, then wait for the next change.

Is that possible?
broadcastdoc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:34 am

Postby admin » Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:22 am

It will stay connected upload new/updated files as soon as possible. If you want it to disconnect after uploading then you should use Sync Task.
admin
Support Staff
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:24 am

Postby broadcastdoc » Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:39 pm

OK.

That's what I'm doing now, but unfortunately that has to be timed, and these files can get updated as quickly as 2 minutes, and as long at 15 minutes. Right now, I have syncing set up for every 60 seconds. I was hoping to cut down on traffic and just have the sync run "on demand" when the local file is updated. Looks like this won't fix that.

Oh well! :)
broadcastdoc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:34 am


Return to Using TurboFTP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron